Everyone’s Crazy But Me ‘n Thee (& I’m not too sure ’bout Thee)

I just read a blog post that could be considered successful, in that I read most of it. I’m even writing a post about it. What I won’t do, however, is link back to it. They say that those bad commercials you see on TV are designed that way for a reason – even though they suck, you end up at the water cooler discussing the stupidity of each ad. Lo and behold, the company brand has you talking about them. They don’t care that you don’t like the commercial – they’re not in the business of selling great commercials (hopefully). They’re in the business of selling, oh hell I don’t know, platypus slippers.

Having said all of that, I’ve decided NOT to discuss and share the brand from which I found this information. I will not promote it here.  So what the heck am I talking about?

I read a blog post/article about marketing. The idea of the piece was to show you how to attract returning customers. Sounds simple enough, right?  The message behind the article is to stand out from the crowd, earn your readers respect by being a leader, a true visionary. Speak your mind, be completely off the wall, and to hell with those you might offend. OK, I get that … to a certain degree. But this is where things take a turn for the worse.

I’m a strong believer in marching to the beat of your own drummer. More often than not, when the crowd is zigging, I’ll be zagging.  Sometimes I end up where I want to be and sometimes not – it’s a gamble, but one I’m ready to take most of the time. I am unique, and I do not live in constant fear that I might offend someone every now and again.

It’s one thing to say to yourself, “I can’t please everyone all of the time, and that’s OK.” It’s another thing entirely when you choose to reference yourself (and subsequently your loyal audience and potential prospects) as white supremacists. I understand the reasoning, such as it is, behind the horrific metaphor. It’s great shock value, and hey, it got me to read the article.

Mission accomplished? Not so much. I read the article, lost all respect for the writer and the blog editor. Their result? One less reader, one less possible consumer, and by excluding the name and link here, one less promoter.

I can’t help but wonder how much thought was put into this hate-crime reference. At one point the writer suggests that we (the loyal readership of online marketers) be controversial and radical so that all facets of our personality show through. And that we should endear to our target audience and basically f**k those it offends because we shouldn’t care about them anyway – after all, they’re not spending money on us.

Uhh, we might have if you hadn’t just solidified your reputation as an Anti-Semite!

So back to the purpose of shock value. Why in the world would anyone choose to categorize themselves as a Nazi instead of, say, a Greenpeace activist, or Mother Theresa or the Pope? Just in case you’re wondering, I’m not a religious person in any way shape or form. Never have been. What I do believe in is the law of attraction. Like attracts like.

My advice to everyone interested is simple. If you focus on negativity, you will attract it into your life. If you want to be a Nazi hate crime white power writer and marketer, have at it. Misery loves company, right?

If, however, you want to associate with the larger, non-fanatical part of the population, then keep reading.

If you want to attract success, wealth and happiness, not only for you but for everyone around you, lighten up! Turn away from the dark side of shock value and embrace the warm and fuzzy crazy that’s within. Be bold, speak your mind, stay true to yourself, but for cryin’ out loud, be kind and respectful … people will still listen!

That’s what the voices in my head keep telling me, anyway.

~ Aimee

3 thoughts on “Everyone’s Crazy But Me ‘n Thee (& I’m not too sure ’bout Thee)

  1. Wow, that’s NUTS! Who would actually talk like that while trying to market themselves?! Well, perhaps we know who their target market is…

    Enough of that ignorance. Back to doing what we love, and manifesting more of it! Society is, for the most part, made up of wonderful, caring people who all just want to be happy. Speaking of which…

    Happy New Year!

  2. Unbelievable! However, as a high school teacher I have seen tons of this kind of immaturity. Sometimes people get so blinded by the idea that their words matter and start vomiting them out everywhere. I’m a strong supporter of freedom of speech, but when it comes to bashing another person for their beliefs or race or whatever, count me out. I support the idea of “do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” It’s what’s worked for me:)

    1. Hey Roger,

      Unbelievable is right – and yet, these bouts of craziness that litter the web never cease to amaze me. I suppose it takes all kinds…
      Thanks for your feedback! :)

      ~Aimee

Leave a Reply

